Audi’s Le Mans winning contingent extends lead of a Championship standings in Brazil

Posted on 14. Nov, 2014 by in Audi Canada

With a 4.5-point advantage, a Le Mans winners trafficked to a South American turn and a contingent are going home with 7.5 points some-more to their total than their evident rivals. At a fifth of a season’s 8 races, a dual sportscar concepts and a motorist teams of Audi fought a conspicuous conflict nonetheless again. In a early phase, Allan McNish was primarily using in second position forward of Benoît Tréluyer. After 9 laps, a Frenchman overtook a Scotsman. After Tom Kristensen had taken over a series “2” R18 ultra from McNish, he spun and clearly forsaken behind his code co-worker Marcel Fässler though a eight-time Le Mans leader from Denmark started a conspicuous recovery. Despite carrying to wait during a red light in a array line during a counsel duration and dropping behind a second reserve automobile on a lane Kristensen cut his necessity in half again before a finish of his stint.

Lucas di Grassi took over a R18 ultra from a Dane and on his entrance for Audi showed a autocratic performance. He gathering though creation any mistakes whatsoever via a weekend and also did a really good pursuit of doing a trade that he was not used to. At a commencement of a final stint, he achieved a fastest competition path for Audi, so clinching third place in his initial continuation competition together with his team-mates, with a opening of usually 14 seconds to a sister car. The lectern result, in a end, meant 15 profitable points for Kristensen/McNish in a conflict for a title. The opening between a dual heading Audi motorist teams during a tip of a standings so saw a teenager increase, though with 78 points nonetheless to be awarded in a 3 remaining races in Bahrain, Japan and China in a subsequent 6 weeks, a pretension win in a drivers’ championship stays totally open. Audi already cumulative an early win of a manufacturers’ championship in a fourth turn during Silverstone 3 weeks ago.*

* Subject to a central announcement of a formula by a FIA

Race results

1 Wurz/Lapierre (Toyota) 247 laps
2 Fässler/Lotterer/Tréluyer (Audi R18 e-tron quattro) + 1m 00.778s
3 di Grassi/Kristensen/McNish (Audi R18 ultra) + 1m 14.679s
4 Prost/Jani (Lola-Toyota) – 5 laps
5 Belicchi/Primat (Lola-Toyota) – 7 laps
6 Leventis/Watts/Kane (HPD-Honda) – 7 laps
7 Potolicchio/Dalziel/Sarrazin (HPD-Honda) – 13 laps
8 Lahaye/Nicolet/Pla (Morgan-Nissan) –16 laps
9 Kaffer/Minassian/Perez Companc (Oreca-Nissan) – 17 laps
10 Brabham/Chandhok/Dumbreck (HPD-Honda) – 17 laps

– End –

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.