Nissan: Nissan Micra Cup Champion celebrated with prestigious Gilles Villeneuve Trophy

Posted on 27. Oct, 2016 by in Nissan Canada

Mississauga, Ont. – After a fantastic 2016 Nissan Micra Cup deteriorate that crowned a leader during a really final eventuality of a season, Quebec motorist Xavier Coupal saw his efforts rewarded with a Gilles Villeneuve Trophy, one of a many prestigious annual awards in a universe of Quebec motorsports.

Xavier Coupal assimilated a Nissan Micra Cup in 2016 and was immediately famous as a tip contender. On a track, he was consistently among a other drivers opposed for any victory, as good as a altogether championship title. By a finish of an eight-round (sixteen-race) deteriorate hold on marks in Quebec and Ontario, a motorist from St-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Quebec) finished on tip of a lectern 9 times, that is some-more than one win for each dual races. His victories took place on a circuits during Calabogie (one win), Mont-Tremblant (five wins), Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (two wins) and during a Grand Prix de Trois-Rivières (one win).

“I did not design this. It’s a cherry on tip after an implausible deteriorate in a Nissan Micra Cup,” pronounced Xavier Coupal, leader of a 2016 Championship. “This array authorised me to lapse to motorsport after an roughly two-year deficiency and, after a parsimonious championship battle, we came divided with a pretension and this prestigious Gilles Villeneuve Trophy. There are many Quebec drivers who have finished intensely good in 2016; to be comparison is a really special feeling.”

Coupal is one of dual drivers in a 25 year story of a Gilles Villeneuve Trophy to accept this endowment twice. The initial time he was awarded a prize was in 2011, when he was distinguished as a motorist for a Canadian group in a Formula 1600 World Openwheel Championship in England. This year, Xavier was awarded a prize during a party during a Gilles Villeneuve Museum hold during Montreal’s Loews Hotel on Tuesday, Oct 25th.

“I am anxious for Xavier,” pronounced Jacques Deshaies, upholder of a Nissan Micra Cup. “I am also so happy to see that those during a top turn of Quebec motorsport commend and honour a extraordinary talent in a series, for a second uninterrupted year. In further to charity new and gifted Canadian motorsport fans a cost-effective one-type array that is fun and professionally organized, a Nissan Micra Cup showcases a measureless talent among Quebec and Canadian drivers. In usually dual years, a array has proven to favour new talent, that represents a destiny of Canadian motorsport. we couldn’t be happier and we give my biggest congratulations to a champion.”

“For Nissan Canada, it’s a outrageous honour that a Nissan Micra Cup motorist has won a Gilles Villeneuve Trophy for a second uninterrupted year,” pronounced Joni Paiva, boss of Nissan Canada Inc. “We are really unapproachable to see a endowment that carries a name of Canada’s many distinguished motorist of all time, being given to a Nissan Micra Cup champion. After Olivier Bédard, a initial leader in a story of a array in 2015, it is intensely poignant for Nissan Canada to see Xavier Coupal accept a same award.”

Created in 1982, a Gilles Villeneuve Trophy is awarded by Auto Sport Québec (Quebec’s deputy of a Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) and symbolizes a Quebec driver’s stability and racing excellence. Gilles Villeneuve, who was innate in Chambly in 1950 and defunct on May 8, 1982, speedy a public’s seductiveness and adore of motorsport like no other. His glamour and aggressiveness on a lane done him a fable around a world, and not only with Formula One fans. 

Each year, a cabinet of experts (drivers, reporters and celebrities) name a target of a Gilles Villeneuve Trophy. The 2016 winner, Xavier Coupal, follows in a footsteps of many drivers who have done story in Canadian motorsport including Patrick Carpentier (1994), Alexandre Tagliani (1996), Andrew Ranger (2002) and, of course, Olivier Bédard in 2015.

The Nissan Micra Cup will lapse to a marks again subsequent year. Officials are now finalizing a calendar of events, that will be announced during a winter. 

Visit a series’ Facebook page Nissan Micra Cup for news and updates or go to a series’ central website at:


1982 : Serge Beaudin                       1998 : Bruno St-Jacques
1983 : François Cloutier                    1999 : Christopher Green
1984 : Patrick Robitaille                    2000 : Philippe Gélinas
1985 : Gary Werve                           2001 : Louis-Philippe Dumoulin
1986 : Alan Labrosse                        2002 : Andrew Ranger
1987 : Jeff Girard                             2007 : Kevin Lacroix
1988 : Patrick Lacasse                      2008 : Pierre-Luc Ouellette
1989 : Robert Boyer                         2009 : Nick Wittmer
1990 : Martin Guimont                     2010 : Olivier Bonnet
1991 : Greg Pootmans                      2011 : Xavier Coupal
1992 : Mark Craig                            2012 : Nathalie Richard Antoine L’Estage
1993 : Jean-François Lussier             2013 : Karl Wittmer
1994 : Patrick Carpentier                  2014 : Louis-Philippe Dumoulin
1995 : Martin Roy                            2015 : Olivier Bédard
1996 : Alexandre Tagliani                 2016 : Xavier Coupal
1997 : Marc-Antoine Camirand


# # #


Tags: ,

Comments are closed.