Audi Canada

Audi motorist René Rast is a “ADAC Motorsportsman of a Year”

“Being selected as a ‘Motorsportsman of a Year’ by a ADAC is a good respect for me,” says Rast. “It is special to attain Formula One universe champion Nico Rosberg, who won this pretension final year.” The judges in a form of high-profile sports reporters and ADAC member formed their preference on Rast’s tough work, dedication, mental strength and ability to keep a cold conduct in one of a hardest-fought motorsport championships. 

René Rast took partial in his initial full DTM deteriorate in 2017, pushing for Audi Sport Team Rosberg. Right from a commencement of a season, a 31-year-old featured during a pointy finish of a standings. He distinguished his initial DTM competition win in Hungary. Rast began a final competition of a deteriorate as one of 4 Audi pilots who still had a possibility of winning a title. In a end, he achieved a sixth place and a runner-up result, that was adequate for him to bind a drivers’ title. 

The ADAC and Rast have a prolonged story together given a early years of his motorsport career. In 2003 and 2004, he took partial in a Formula BMW ADAC. He won a ADAC Volkswagen Polo Cup pretension in his rookie year in 2005. Thanks to his success, a motorist from Minden was promoted to a growth module of a “ADAC Stiftung Sport.” In 2014, he won a altogether drivers’ pretension in a ADAC GT Masters with an Audi R8 LMS. With a GT3 sports automobile from a code with a 4 rings, Rast has achieved many successes in new years, including victories in a 24-hour races during Spa, a Nürburgring and Daytona. In addition, he also raced for Audi in a FIA World Endurance Championship.

The “ADAC Motorsportsman of a Year” has been awarded given 1980. René Rast has combined his name to a list of pretension winners that includes convene fable Walter Röhrl (1980), Hans-Joachim Stuck (1990), who won a DTM pretension in a initial year of Audi’s bureau participation, and a seven-time Formula One universe champion Michael Schumacher (1992 and 2000). With Martin Tomczyk (2011) and Mike Rockenfeller (2013), DTM champions from Audi have also been named as a “ADAC Motorsportsman of a Year.”