BMW Canada

Sheldon outpost der Linde completes 2019 BMW DTM motorist choice as a initial South African in a DTM.

Munich. Sheldon outpost der Linde (RSA) will make his DTM debut
with BMW Motorsport in 2019, completing a BMW motorist line-up. He
will be 19 years and 356 days aged when a deteriorate gets underway at
Hockenheim on 5th May 2019, only 45 days comparison than BMW
works motorist Joel Eriksson (SWE) was when he done his entrance last
year. Van der Linde is set to turn a initial South African to have
raced in a DTM given a array was launched 35 years ago.

“Welcome to a BMW Motorsport family, Sheldon van
der Linde,” pronounced BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. “It is great
to have another gifted youngster in a team. Sheldon done a
illusory sense during a circle of a BMW M4 DTM during a Young
Driver Test in mid-December. Prior to that, we had been following his
career in GT racing really carefully. Sheldon’s speed and versatility
make him a ideal serve to a BMW M Motorsport programme. we am
assured that he will find his feet really fast in a DTM.”

Van der Linde said: “The Young Driver Test in a BMW M4 DTM was
already a dream come loyal for me. To now have a place in a group for
2019 is incredible. I’m really unapproachable to be stability a family tradition
from my father with such a famous vehicle manufacturer, and one that is
also really renouned behind home – and to be a initial South African ever
in a DTM. Ultimately, a large appreciate we to BMW Motorsport for a trust.”

Like his hermit Kelvin, who is 3 years his elder,
Johannesburg-born Sheldon outpost der Linde started his racing career on
a karting stage during a age of six. Both brothers hold the
motorsport bug from within their family. Grandfather Hennie was a
successful furloughed vehicle driver, winning many titles in South Africa,
while father Shaun tasted success in BMW furloughed cars during home in South
Africa and in Europe. Their Uncle Etienne also raced in various
inhabitant and general series.

Having achieved success in a universe of karting, Sheldon outpost der
Linde changed into vehicle racing in 2014 and immediately won the
South African Volkswagen Polo Cup during a initial attempt. Fifteen during the
time, he stays a youngest racing motorist in South Africa to have
won a inhabitant championship – a record hold formerly by his brother
Kelvin and his Uncle Etienne before him. Sheldon successfully defended
his pretension a following year, before withdrawal his local South Africa
and following his brother, who was already enjoying success in the
ADAC GT Masters in Germany, to Kempten (GER).

After one deteriorate in a Audi TT Cup, with 4 competition wins to his
name, and one feat and third place altogether in a 2017 ADAC TCR
Germany, outpost der Linde contested his initial deteriorate in GT3 racing in
2018 – and with good success. Together with his hermit he claimed
dual competition wins in a ADAC GT Masters, creation a serve four
appearances on a lectern and finale a year in second place overall,
only one indicate behind a champion. He also gained knowledge in the
IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, where he took feat in the
GTD category during a final turn of a season, a “Petit Le Mans”. In
a Blancpain GT Series, he and his hermit finished third behind the
dual BMW teams of Walkenhorst Motorsport and ROWE Racing during a 24
Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (BEL). He was also awarded a “Sean
Edwards Trophy” for rising immature GT drivers during a finish of a season.

However, a topping on a cake was still to come during a finish of
2018: a invitation from BMW Motorsport to attend a DTM Young
Driver Test, during that he cumulative a chair for 2019 with an impressive
display. As such, outpost der Linde had achieved his dream of racing in
a DTM within only 5 years.

Van der Linde will contest for BMW Team RBM in a 2019 season,
fasten Philipp Eng (AUT) and Joel Eriksson (SWE). Bruno Spengler
(CAN) moves over to BMW Team RMG and will expostulate alongside Marco
Wittmann (GER) and Timo Glock (GER).

BMW DTM teams and drivers in a 2019 season.


Timo Glock (team championship: BMW Team RMR)

Bruno Spengler

Marco Wittmann


Philipp Eng (team championship: BMW Team RMR)

Joel Eriksson

Sheldon outpost der Linde